Head

Our thematic unit aims to better understand one of the biggest mysteries science is facing: explaining the origins of human consciousness. Our laboratories study (i) pathological, ii) pharmacological and (iii) physiological modifications of conscious awareness in both patients and healthy subjects.

 

Our expertise rages from the assessment of brain function in (i) brain death, coma, “vegetative” unresponsive, minimally responsive, locked-in and near-death patients to (ii) general anesthesia, controlled sedation and hallucinatory drugs to (iii) hypnosis, meditation and dream-like states.


Principal Investigators

NEWS

The Gertrud Reenmtsma Foundation (Max Planck Society) has just named its winners in the category of fundamental research in neurology. Steven Laureys (Coma Science Group - GIGA-Consciousness) shares the "Klaus Joachim Zülch" Prize 2017 with Giulio Tononi (University Wisconsin-Madison). The two researchers are rewarded for their "fundamental discoveries in the neurology of consciousness and coma".

Direction

Notre unité thématique vise à mieux comprendre l'un des plus grands mystères auxquels la science est confrontée: expliquer les origines de la conscience humaine. Nos laboratoires ont étudié les modifications pathologiques,  pharmacologiques et physiologiques de la conscience chez les patients et chez les sujets sains.

 

Notre expertise va de l'évaluation de la fonction cérébrale dans la mort cérébrale, le coma, les patients «non-répondants», les patients peu réactifs, les patients immobilisés et proches de la mort cérébrale, du coma, d’un état végétatif à l'anesthésie générale, la sédation contrôlée et les médicaments hallucinatoires ou encore l'hypnose, la méditation et les états de rêve.

 


Principal Investigators

NEWS

La Fondation Gertrud Reenmtsma (Max Planck Society) vient de désigner ses lauréats dans la catégorie de la recherche fondamentale en neurologie. Steven Laureys (Coma Science Group - GIGA-Consciousness) partage le prix « Klaus Joachim Zülch » 2017 avec Giulio Tononi (University Wisconsin-Madison). Les deux chercheurs sont récompensés pour leurs « découvertes fondamentales dans la neurologie de la conscience et le coma ».